How can we help you?

select from "I am.." to begin

Update on County Offices and Facilities

as of 5/11/2020 3:00 PM

At this point in time, many County offices are still open for business remotely, and are providing limited public services.

All public counters - except for those at Child Support Services and some Health Agency offices are closed. Local libraries are also closed at this time.

To help mitigate the spread of COVID-19, please complete transactions over the phone and online whenever possible. If these approaches will not work for specific problems you are encountering, please call the department providing the service and make an appointment before coming to County facilities. This will help alleviate your frustration. Please note that anyone who arrives at County facilities exhibiting clear signs of illness may be asked to leave the premises. We appreciate everyone’s patience and understanding at this time.

Latest COVID-19 Briefing: 5/29

About the County

The County of San Luis Obispo government (the County) was established in 1850 as one of the original 27 counties in California. The region's approximate 3,300 square miles and 100 miles of coastline are divided into five supervisory districts that are each represented by an elected official who serves on the Board of Supervisors. The Board sets governing policies for and serves as the legislative arm for the unincorporated areas of the County

The County government provides more than 700 public services, including law enforcement, animal control, flu shots, transportation planning, foster care, and more. While some County services – such as law enforcement, road maintenance and repair, and land-use planning – are only provided to the unincorporated areas, many are an extension of the State and are also provided to people in the incorporated cities. 

Around the County